What does this mean?

Click the green bubbles to find out more!


Notice: Undefined index: n0e7f9c in D:\BCIS\www\components\com_content\models\article.php on line 1

Air Quality

At BCIS, we are proud to state that despite headlines of worsening air pollution in Beijing, we are experiencing an indoor air quality that is consistently more than or equal to 80% cleaner than the air quality index (AQI) outside.

What is the quality of the air in BCIS facilities?

BCIS is enjoying an indoor air quality that is at least 80% cleaner than the air quality index (AQI) outside. The quality of our indoor air is tested regularly, in various locations throughout our buildings, using the TSI 8534 handheld monitor purchased by the school with funds raised at the 2013 BCIS Spring in the City event. This monitor measures multiple types of suspended particulate matter (SPM) including respirable suspended particle matter (RSP; particles with a diameter of 10 micrometers or less) and fine particles (diameter of 2.5 micrometers or less).

What strategy does BCIS have regarding air quality at school?

To achieve and maintain an indoor air quality level of at least 80% cleaner than outdoor levels, BCIS has installed a set of three layers of Honeywell filters (the maximum available) in all of the 17 air-intake machines in our buildings – including the Elementary School, Secondary School and Sports Center – and supplemental Blue Air brand air filter machines in many rooms, primarily the classrooms with our youngest students. Additionally, our building has been designed in a way that allows for positive air pressure, which means when a door opens, it allows the air to travel from inside to outside. Finally, our new Early Childhood Center (ECC) campus, which will host BCIS classes for Toddlers through Kindergarten starting in the 2014-2015 academic year, is an LEED-certified to Gold Standard facility.

What does BCIS do on bad air days?

At BCIS, we have strict rules regarding what students and faculty are permitted to do during periods when AQI ratings are high in Beijing (see chart below). We created and enforce these rules in order to limit the amount of prolonged exposure to unhealthy air through the reduction or modification of school activities that require moderate to heavy exertion. Staff members are kept informed of changes in AQI throughout the day so that they can change activity plans as needed. Additionally, our staff members have all been trained to observe student behavior and respond to distress—our nurses also check students with asthma on a regular basis.

 

AQI

BCIS Response

0-100 Daily activities are not affected.
101-200

Daily activities are not affected.

Teachers report any signs of respiratory difficulty in children to the nurse immediately.

 

201-250

1) Students will be allowed outside to play during breaks but will not take part in strenuous activities. Students will also have the option of staying indoors in the library, especially students with respiratory problems.

2) All EAs will be modified so that students do not take part in strenuous activity.

3) Any BCIS outdoor community event will be modified.

4) Teachers report any signs of respiratory difficulty in children to the nurse immediately.

5) PE and related activities will be modified by PE teachers.

251+

1) All PE and related activities lessons will be modified and carried out indoors.

2) Students will remain indoors during break time in line with the indoor play procedures.

3) All field trips that involve any sort of physical activity will be postponed.

4) All outdoor EAs will be moved indoors.

5) Any BCIS outdoor community event will be cancelled.

6) Teachers report any signs of respiratory difficulty in children to the nurse immediately.

How will BCIS respond if the Beijing government announces a Red Alert?

In December 2013, the Beijing government issued a new policy stating that schools close if the government predicts that the Air Quality Index (AQI) will be 300 or higher for at least three consecutive days, a situation the government has labeled as “Red Alert”. The government’s color code regarding AQI can be found below for your reference. If the Red Alert is issued, BCIS will reach out to you immediately via SMS and email. We will also have staff on campus in the event that people come to school on a day that it is closed.

Government Alert Levels and Actions

 

Blue warning

One day of heavy pollution (continuously 200+) is predicted

Reduce ECC and ES outdoor activities.

 

Yellow warning

One day of severe pollution (continuously 300+) or three days of heavy pollution is/are predicted.

Stop ECC and ES activities, reduce MS and HS outdoor activities such as PE and sports.

 

Orange warning

Three days of heavy and severe pollution are predicted.

Stop outdoor activities for all students.

Red warning

 

 

Three continuous days of severe pollution are predicted.

Stop schooling for all students, but do not stop learning.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 




What if my child requires special attention in regards to air quality issues?
You have our commitment that BCIS will attend carefully to all individual situations. If you have special concerns about your child, please let their teacher know, and you may also reach out to Head of School Bill O’Hearn (bill.ohearn@bcis.cn) directly to discuss.

010203

BCIS is accredited by the CIS (Council of International Schools) and WASC (Western Association of Schools and Colleges), which demonstrates that the school meets demanding international standards in all the areas of philosophy and objectives, curriculum, governance and management, staff, student support services, resources, and student and community life.Visit www.cois.org and www.acswasc.org for more information.

The International Baccalaureate® (IB) is a non-profit educational foundation, motivated by its mission, focused on the student. The three programmes for students aged 3 to 19 help develop the intellectual, personal, emotional and social skills to live, learn and work in a rapidly globalizing world. Founded in 1968, IBO currently works with 2,771 schools in 138 countries to develop and offer three challenging programmes to over 763,000 students aged 3 to 19 years.Visit www.ibo.org for more information.

We live by a spirit of inspiring others, achieving ones goals and creating a better world.

Beijing City International School | No.77 Baiziwan Nan Er Road, Beijing 100022, P.R.China | Tel: +86 010 8771 7171 | Fax: +86 010 8771 7778

Copyright © 2005-2010 Beijing City International School. All rights reserved | Website by Crystal Asia.

ugg boots uk
uggs
cheap ugg boots
uggs outlet
wholesale jerseys

这是什么?

Click the green bubbles to find out more!

空气质量

在北京乐成国际学校,我们荣耀地宣布:即使您总会在媒体看到关于北京日益恶化空气污染问题的头条新闻,我们校园室内的空气质量一直得到有效净化,且比室外空气清新百分之八十以上。

北京乐成国际学校室内空气质量如何?

北京乐成国际学校室内空气质量优于室外的百分之十以上。我们使用手持型TSI 8534检测仪对教学楼内不同区域的空气质量定期进行监测(此设备借助于2013春季游园会活动中募集资金而购置)。该检测仪可监测多种悬浮性颗粒物的数量,包括可吸入性悬浮颗粒PM10与PM2.5。

北京乐成国际学校空气质量控制策略是什么?

为达到上述室内空气质量标准,我们在教学楼所有17个进气装置均配备了三层精密Honeywell空气滤网,  其全面覆盖到小学部,中学部及体育馆。 我们还在小学低年级教室与重点区域放置了多台Blue Air空气净化器。那时,我们建筑内的空气质量已优于北京其他地方。除此之外, 我们科学地设计了教学楼,以保证其内部气压正值;也就是说,当教学楼门打开时,室内空气可自然流出室外。在建的北京乐成国际学校幼儿园是国内首所获得美国建筑与能源设计先锋奖LEED金奖的的幼教机构,  将迎接2014-15学年托儿班至幼儿园大班的新生。

北京乐成国际学校如何应对空气污染?

学校具有严格完备的空气污染应对策略,明确以规定我们在遭遇空气污染之时,如何安排学生的教学活动。同时,学校员工全天都将接到空气质量最新播报,据此调整教学并将危害健康风险将至最低。再之,我们对所有员工做了专项培训,他们可观察学生行为表现,并对他们的不适及时采取行动。我们的护士会定期对患有哮喘的学生进行检查。

空气质量指数

北京乐成国际学校应对措施

0-100 日常教学活动不受影响
101-200

日常教学活动不受影响

如学生出现任何呼吸困难征兆,教师及时向在校护士汇报。

201-250

1) 学生可在课间进行户外活动,但不可进行任何剧烈运动。学生也可选择在图书馆活动,特别是那些患有呼吸疾病的学生。

2) 我们将调整所有课外活动计划,保证学生不参与任何户外剧烈运动。

3) 我们将调整所有户外大型社区活动安排。

4)如学生出现任何呼吸困难征兆,教师及时向在校护士汇报。

5) 体育教师调整所有体育及相关教学活动安排。

251+

1) 体育教师调整所有体育及相关教学活动安排,并将所有活动搬入室内。

2) 所有课间活动在室内进行。

3) 所有涉及体育活动的考察出游延期举办。

4) 所有户外课外活动移至室内。

5) 所有户外学校社区大型活动取消。

6) 如学生出现任何呼吸困难征兆,教师及时向在校护士汇报。

如北京政府发出空气污染红色预警通知,学校如何采取行动?

自2013年12月,我们收到由北京市政府发布的关于空气污染的一份重要通知。通知称,如果北京市空气监测局预测未来三天空气污染指数超过300,学校将收到一份《空气重度污染红色预警通知书》。依据本通知书要求,北京区域内所有学校,包括我校,将执行强制性停课。我们将通过短信与邮件向家长发布消息。校方将在听课期间安排相关人员值班,接待来校访客。北京政府空气预警等级信息如下,以供参考。

北京市政府空气预警等级与应对行动方案

蓝色预警

预测未来一日出现重度污染(空气指数持续200以上)

减少幼儿园与小学学生户外活动

黄色预警

预测未来一日出现严重污染(空气指数持续300以上)或未来三日出现重度污染

停止幼儿园与小学学生户外活动,减少初中与高中的户外活动(如体育课与运动)

橙色预警

预计未来三日交替出现重度污染或严重污染

停止所有学生的户外活动

红色预警

预测未来三日持续出现严重污染

停课,在线教学启动

如孩子在空气污染时,需要特殊关注,我们应如何做?

我们承诺,我们将认真对待并处理每个人提出的问题。如果您对孩子有任何的任何方面有所担心,请与教师沟通。您也可直接与校长联系,提出问题,就问题展开讨论并交换意见。您可给他发送邮件(ted.sharp@bcis.cn)。

010203

BCIS is accredited by the CIS (Council of International Schools) and WASC (Western Association of Schools and Colleges), which demonstrates that the school meets demanding international standards in all the areas of philosophy and objectives, curriculum, governance and management, staff, student support services, resources, and student and community life.Visit www.cois.org and www.acswasc.org for more information.

The International Baccalaureate® (IB) is a non-profit educational foundation, motivated by its mission, focused on the student. The three programmes for students aged 3 to 19 help develop the intellectual, personal, emotional and social skills to live, learn and work in a rapidly globalizing world. Founded in 1968, IBO currently works with 2,771 schools in 138 countries to develop and offer three challenging programmes to over 763,000 students aged 3 to 19 years.Visit www.ibo.org for more information.

We live by a spirit of inspiring others, achieving ones goals and creating a better world.

Beijing City International School | No.77 Baiziwan Nan Er Road, Beijing 100022, P.R.China | Tel: +86 010 8771 7171 | Fax: +86 010 8771 7778

Copyright © 2005-2010 Beijing City International School. All rights reserved | Website by Crystal Asia.

ugg boots uk
uggs
cheap ugg boots
uggs outlet
wholesale jerseys