What does this mean?

Click the green bubbles to find out more!

Senior Management

Educational Leadership Team

Chris Akin Head of School

Chris Akin
Chris Akin
Head of School

Chris Akin is from Guelph, Ontario in Canada. He earned his two Bachelor degrees majoring in Physical and Health Education and History/English from Queen’s University, Canada. Chris gained his Master of International Overseas Education from The College of New Jersey, USA.  He also has the Principal Certification and the Principal’s Training Center Certificate of International School Leadership.

Chris is an experienced school leader who has dedicated his entire career to International education. He has led schools on different continents in Peru, South America; in Switzerland, Europe; and in Indonesia, Asia for the past 15 years and has experience as Head of School and several other senior leadership positions. Prior to joining BCIS, Chris worked as the High School Principal in the American School of Lima.

Chris has a thorough understanding of the power of an IB education, and he has been trained in each of the IB programs, DP, MYP and PYP. Chris is a former DP Coordinator, has taught the MYP and PYP. Chris is also a lifelong learner, high energy, people-orientated and outgoing leader. Owing to his strong international education background, Chris has much confidence to lead BCIS to move towards a better future.

 

Julie Lawton Elementary School Principal, Deputy Head of School

20150728 HOS Principals Photos-4
Julie Lawton
Elementary School Principal,
Deputy Head of School

Julie is originally from Yorkshire, in the North of England. She gained her BA in German, Spanish and Business Studies in 1988 in the UK. She then went on to study for her Post Graduate Certificate of Education (Primary) and her TEFL/TESOL Diploma.

Julie's first teaching position was for 2 years as a Grade 2 homeroom teacher in a small school in her hometown. She then chose to head overseas and worked as a Grade 3 homeroom teacher for 2 years in Kuwait.  Julie moved to Beijing and joined an international school in 1996 where she held a variety of positions including G3, G4 and G5 homeroom teacher, G1-6 ESOL teacher, Primary Years Programme (PYP) Coordinator, Assistant Principal and Lower School Principal.

Julie was delighted to join BCIS as the founding Elementary Principal in August 2005 and is proud of the achievements of the school to date.

Julie has worked closely with the International Baccalaureate for many years, has benefited from a variety of professional development opportunities and is a life-long learner.

Julie’s has three children, Jack, Finn and Molly. Jack graduated from BCIS in 2016 and Finn and Molly currently study at BCIS.

 

Colleen Drisner Secondary School Principal

20150728 HOS Principals Photos-5
Colleen Drisner
Secondary School Principal

Colleen hails from Canada and holds a Master’s degree from Melbourne Business School at the University of Melbourne, Australia. Colleen also has a Bachelor of Arts from the University of Waterloo with a joint honors degree in Applied Business Studies and English Literature as well as a Bachelor of Education from the University of Toronto, Canada.

Colleen first came to China in 1994 where she trained teachers at the Hainan Institute of Education. In addition to a career in Education, Colleen has served as a Director for a non-profit organization and been involved in numerous business development projects in Southeast Asia.

Colleen joined the BCIS team in 2011 as a teacher of Business Management and English Literature. She then worked as the DP Coordinator for two years before becoming Secondary School Principal.

Alan Cox Early Childhood Center Principal

20150728 HOS Principals Photos-7
Alan Cox
Early Childhood Center Principal

Alan is originally from Powell, Ohio in the Great Lakes section United States of America.  Having earned both his undergraduate and graduate degrees in Elementary Education from The Ohio State University, Alan spent three years honing his teaching skills in southern Maryland from 1997 to 2000.

From teaching in America, he then journeyed to Berlin, Germany where he taught at the John F. Kennedy Schule, a bilingual school in the German public school system, for the next two years. In 2002 Mr. Cox joined an IBPYP international school here in Beijing teaching Grades 5 and 6. It is here that he first became an IBPYP Coordinator and helped to facilitate the school’s 3-year IBPYP self-study report and evaluation. In 2005 Mr. Cox qualified to be trained as an IBPYP workshop leader for the Asia Pacific region and began to conduct IB workshops and school evaluations in the region.

Alan was excited to join BCIS in 2006 as IBPYP Coordinator. Alan is currently the Early Childhood Center Principal and serves as a member of the Educational Leadership Team.

Stuart Mcdonald Secondary School Deputy Principal

Stuart
Stuart Mcdonald
Secondary School Deputy Principal

Stu is from New York State, but calls Chicago home.  He completed his undergraduate studies in Forestry at Syracuse University and spent a short time as Smokey the Bear.  Before long he discovered his calling in education, completed his Masters Degree in Secondary Science Education and taught high school science for a decade in upstate New York.  Since then he has taught middle school and high school math and science in Cairo, Beirut, Chicago and Jakarta.  Just before joining the BCIS family he was 8th grade team leader for five years at Jakarta Intercultural School where he helped multidisciplinary teams develop units of study based on transferable skills.  He is passionate about helping young people find relevancy in school and develop well rounded and balanced lives.  He is a lifelong learner and has earned a certificate in Educational Leadership from the Principal’s Training Center.  He is an avid scuba diver, enjoys playing the guitar, and is a crossword puzzle enthusiast.

 

Kate Mancarella Early Childhood Center Deputy Principal

Kate Mancarella
Kate Mancarella
Early Childhood Center Deputy Principal

Kate Mancarella comes from Melbourne, Australia and has been teaching since 2007. Kate graduated from Melbourne University in 2006 with a Bachelor of Primary Education and completed her post-graduate studies in TESOL in 2008. During her studies, Kate spent a semester in Malmo, Sweden where she undertook a placement at Bladins International School. Since returning to Melbourne in 2006, Kate has participated in a number of TESOL programs, including tutoring recently arrived African migrants in Melbourne, as well as teaching primary age students at the Western English Language School. Kate has also taught a range of classes at Williamstown North Primary School since she began teaching there in 2007. Kate joined BCIS in 2009 as a Grade 5 teacher and she is now currently the Elementary School PYP Coordinator.

 

Glenn Fitzpatrick Elementary School Deputy Principal, PYP Coordinator

Glenn Fitzpatrick-ES Librarian TeacherLiteracy Team Leader
Glenn Fitzpatrick
Elementary School Deputy Principal, PYP Coordinator

Glenn is Australian and has taught throughout Australia and also in International schools in Kuwait, Ukraine, Germany, and Angola before joining BCIS in 2006.

In his time at BCIS he has been a classroom teacher an ELL teacher and is currently the DP/PYP Coordinator.

Outside of work Glenn enjoys horse racing, Australian Rules Football, tennis, running, surfing, and skiing.

 

 

 

 

Allen Lambert Director of Technology

20150728 HOS Principals Photos-3
Allen Lambert
Director of Technology

Allen received his Bachelor of Science in Management and Communication from Corbon University in Salem, Oregon and pursued a career in business before going into education.  He served as director of two Non-Profit Community Organizations.  While working as an assistant English teacher in the French university system, he was inspired to return to school to pursue a Master of Arts in Teaching from Southern Oregon University and then later a Master of Education in Administration and Supervision from Arizona State University.

Allen has worked in schools both in Oregon and Arizona as well as abroad. In his teaching career, he has distinguished himself as an intervention specialist focusing on language acquisition, mathematical fluency and gifted programs.  He has served in leadership roles such as head of department and climate consultant to the superintendent. He believes in building leadership capacity in students and staff and recognizes that the culture of a community should be purposefully developed in order to achieve our mission.  Before coming to China, he taught in a Middle Years Program in Beirut, Lebanon.

Allen joined the BCIS team in 2012 as an English Language Support and MYP teacher, and since 2013 has been Secondary School Deputy Principal. He recognizes that our school sets high standards for our students while providing a caring and supportive environment. He hopes that he will be able to learn from our community as he supports them in his new role.  Allen loves making a difference by helping students to achieve success in their personal pursuits and academic careers.

Jessica Wang Director of Operations

Jessica Wang
Jessica Wang
Director of Operations

Jessica Wang is a local Beijinger. In 2007, she earned her MBA in Newcastle Business School, part of Northumbria, and also is a member of the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (ACCA). She joined BCIS in 2015 with about 17 years’ experience in accounting, finance management and business operations for Fortune 500 companies such as Siemens, TNT Express, and Allianz. She also has experience in the Telecommunications Media Technology (TMT) sector, including in TV media and cross-border e-commerce business.

Jessica is proud to be able to bring her knowledge and experience to BCIS and employ her considerable expertise to help the school in its future development.

 

 

 

 

Sam Savou Director of Communications

Sam Communication Director
Sam Savou
Director of Communications

Sam has been a parent and a member of the BCIS community since 2008, when he moved to China as a diplomat with his family. He joined the BCIS team in June 2015 as Director of Communications.

Sam is a Fiji native with over 20 years international marketing experience with global multinationals Nestle, Vodafone, Giesicke & Devrient and as a diplomat focusing on economic development and cooperation between China and the Pacific Island countries.

Sam holds an MBA from the University of the South Pacific in Fiji and a Diploma in Project Management from the University of New England in Australia. He also has interests in Productivity & Innovation and Value Chains & Connectivity.

He is a former Director and Trustee of the Vodafone ATH Fiji Foundation, a past-President of the Rotary Club of Suva North and a former Chairman of ‘The Learning Centre’, a private self-funded Primary School in Suva, Fiji. Sam is also an active sportsman who enjoys traveling and meeting people of different cultures.

Wang Yan BCIS Chinese Director, YERI Executive Dean

Wang Yan
Wang Yan
BCIS Chinese Director, YERI Executive Dean

Wang Yan has been working, first as Executive Director at YueCheng Educational Innovation Center (YEIC) since August 2010, then as Executive Dean at YueCheng Education Research Institute (YERI) since June 2012 and as Chinese Director at Beijing City International School (BCIS) since January 2016.

Before she Joined YERI and BCIS, Wang Yan worked at Western Academy of Beijing (WAB) as School Affairs Director for 11 years, worked at China Office, World Bank as Administrative Officer for 7 years, worked at Ministry of Education, P.R. China as Senior Officer for 2 years.

Wang Yan received two master degrees (Med and MA), one in Educational Administration and the other one in Higher Education from Teachers College Columbia University. Before she studied in NYC USA, she studied at Guangxi Normal University locating at Guilin Guangxi.

Wang Yan is an active advocator for promoting IB programs in China and for promoting educational innovation in an internationalized way.  She promotes Differentiation (Personalized Learning), Professional Learning Community (PLC), Cognitive Coaching and other advanced educational theories and practices through conducting PD workshops for national as well as international educators here in China.  She is an expert in school accreditation.

Wang Yan is now one of the members of IBO Regional Council (Asia Pacific).  She is also one of the committee members of NCCT International School Accreditation Committee, Ministry of Education, P.R. China.

010203

BCIS is accredited by the CIS (Council of International Schools) and WASC (Western Association of Schools and Colleges), which demonstrates that the school meets demanding international standards in all the areas of philosophy and objectives, curriculum, governance and management, staff, student support services, resources, and student and community life.Visit www.cois.org and www.acswasc.org for more information.

The International Baccalaureate® (IB) is a non-profit educational foundation, motivated by its mission, focused on the student. The three programmes for students aged 3 to 19 help develop the intellectual, personal, emotional and social skills to live, learn and work in a rapidly globalizing world. Founded in 1968, IBO currently works with 2,771 schools in 138 countries to develop and offer three challenging programmes to over 763,000 students aged 3 to 19 years.Visit www.ibo.org for more information.

We live by a spirit of inspiring others, achieving ones goals and creating a better world.

Beijing City International School | No.77 Baiziwan Nan Er Road, Beijing 100022, P.R.China | Tel: +86 010 8771 7171 | Fax: +86 010 8771 7778

Copyright © 2005-2010 Beijing City International School. All rights reserved | Website by Crystal Asia.

ugg boots uk
uggs
cheap ugg boots
uggs outlet
wholesale jerseys

这是什么?

Click the green bubbles to find out more!

Senior Management

Educational Leadership Team

Chris Akin 总校长

ChrisAkin
Chris Akin
总校长

克里斯先生来自加拿大。他毕业于加拿大皇后大学,取得学士学位,主修体育与健康教育以及历史和英语。后来克里斯先生又在美国新泽西学院获得教育学硕士学位。 他还拥有校长证书和国际学校领导力证书。

克里斯先生具备多年的管理经验,致力于将毕生事业投入到国际教育领域。在过去的15年中,他曾在世界几个大洲工作过,担任校长或其它高管职位,如南美洲秘鲁、欧洲的瑞士,亚洲的印度尼西亚。加入北京乐成国际学校之前,克里斯在秘鲁利马美国学校担任高中校长。

克里斯对IB教育体系有着完整深入的理解,他曾经参加过IB课程所有项目的培训,大学预科课程,中学课程和小学课程。克里斯曾经是大学预科课程协调员,也有过教授小学与中学课程的经验。他是一位终生的学习者,精力充沛、是一位以人为本,平易近人的教育管理者。克里斯相信,他丰富的国际教育经验和背景经历将带领BCIS向更美好的未来迈进!

 

 

 

Julie Lawton 小学部校长副校长

20150728 HOS Principals Photos-4
Julie Lawton
小学部校长
副校长

Julie来自英格兰北部的约克郡。1988年,她在英国获得了德语、西班牙语和商业研究本科学位。随后她获得了初等教育硕士学位和对外英语教学文凭。随后她继续深造,先后获得了初级教育的硕士文凭与TEFL/TESOL文凭。

Julie的第一份工作是在她的家乡的一所小学校中担任2年级班主任老师。随后她选择前往海外执教。她在科威特工作的两年中担任3年级班主任老师。1996年,Julie来到了北京,加入了一所国际学校。在此期间,她曾分别担任过三年级、四年级和五年级班主任、一年级到六年级的ESOL老师,IB小学部项目(PYP)协调员,助理学部校长以及小学部校长。

2005年8月,Julie加入BCIS,成为学校小学部的创始学部校长。

Julie是国际文凭组织(IBO)小学部项目工作坊领袖,包括安排教师培训、组织针对亚太地区PYP学校的评估访问等。她还曾数次参加学部校长培训中心(伦敦)主办的职业发展培训课程并推崇终生学习者的教育理念。

Julie育有三个孩子。Jack于2016年从BCIS毕业。Finn与Molly在BCIS就读。

Colleen Drisner 中学部校长

20150728 HOS Principals Photos-5
Colleen Drisner
中学部校长

Colleen来自加拿大,并从滑铁卢大学毕业后拿到文学学士学位,并获得应用商业研究与英语文学荣誉学位。他还持有多伦多大学颁发的教育学士学位,以及墨尔本大学商学院授予的硕士学位。

她在加拿大是一位资深的中学教师。1994年,她来到中国,在海南教育学院做教师培训工作。除了教书育人外,她还从事人力资源管理领域的工作。

Colleen在2011年加入BCIS,担任商业管理与英语文学教师,后担任大学预科课程协调员两年之久。她现为中学部校长。

 

 

 

 

 

Alan Cox 幼儿园园长  

20150728 HOS Principals Photos-7
Alan Cox
幼儿园园长

 

Alan来自美国大湖地区,俄亥俄州。他从俄亥俄州立大学获得了小学教育学士与硕士学位,他从1997到2000年间,在南马里兰州小试牛刀,提升他的教学造诣。

在美国执教后,他去到德国柏林,在德国公立教学体系下的双语学校-约翰肯尼迪学校任教两年。2002年,他来到北京一所IBPYP学校,教5到6年级。在这,他第一次变成IBPYP协调员,帮助学校完成3年自我研究与评估编写。2005年,他受训成为亚太区IBPYP工作坊带头人,开始在区域内主持培训与学校评估。

Alan很荣幸于2006年加入BCIS,成为 IBPYP协调员。他现任幼儿园园长,并是学校教育领导团队的一员。 

 

Stuart Mcdonald 中学部副校长

Stuart
Stuart Mcdonald
中学部副校长

Stu来自纽约州,但他把芝加哥成为家。 他从Syracuse University取得了林业学士学位并在Smokey the Bear工作了一段时间。不久前,他为了实现自己的教育梦,完成了中等学校科学教育专业硕士学位,并在纽约一所高中任教十年之久。之后,他在开罗,贝鲁特,芝加哥与雅加达数所初中与高中教授数学与科学课程。加入BCIS前,他在雅加达国际学校任八年级教学组长五年时间;期间,他帮助多学科小组,参与了转化技能学习单元课程的研发。对于让青年人在学校找到社区感与归属感,帮助他们成为发展均衡的全人,他充满热情并倾尽全力。他是一位终生的学习者,并从校长培训中心获得教育领导资格证书。他热爱潜水,爱弹吉他,并钟爱字谜游戏。 

 

 

 

 

Kate Mancarella 幼儿园副园长/小学课程协调员

20150728 HOS Principals Photos-6
Kate Mancarella
幼儿园副园长/小学课程协调员

Kate Mancarella来自澳大利亚墨尔本。她自2007年起开始任教。2006年,Kate从墨尔本大学毕业,获得了小学教育学士学位,并在2008年拿到了TESOL教育硕士学位。 期间,她在瑞典马尔摩Bladins国际学校实习工作了一个学期。 2006年回到墨尔本后,她参与了一系列TESOL课程教学, 包括为非洲裔移民学生做辅导,在Western English Language School语言学校教授小学课程等。自2007年,Kate还在Williamstown North小学担任过多门课程教师。Kate2009年加入了BCIS,成为五年级教师,后晋升为小学课程协调员。她现任幼儿园副园长/小学课程协调员。  

 

 

 

 

 

  Glenn Fitzpatrick 小学部副校长小学课程协调员

ES Glenn F New

 

Glenn Fitzpatrick
小学部副校长
小学课程协调员

Glenn来自澳大利亚;在2006年加入BCIS前,他的教学足迹遍布科威特,乌克兰,德国,安哥拉等国的国际学校。 

在BCIS他曾担任过班主任,英语语言辅导教师,小学图书馆长的职务。Glenn现任小学部副校长/小学课程协调员。 

Glenn喜欢赛马,澳式足球,网球,跑步,冲浪与滑雪。 

 

 

 

 

 

Allen Lambert 信息技术部总监

20150728 HOS Principals Photos-3
Allen Lambert
信息技术部总监

Allen从俄勒冈州塞勒姆科尔邦大学管理与传媒专业毕业,获得理学学士学位。在他涉足教育行业前,他从事商业工作。他曾在两家非盈利社区组织工作,担任总监职务。在法国大学体系内做英语助教时,他被深深触动,并义无反顾地返回校园,在南俄勒冈州大学深造艺术教学硕士学位课程。随后,他又从亚利桑那州立大学获得教育管理与监察硕士学位。

Allen曾在俄勒冈州,亚利桑那州及其他国家学校工作。在他的教师生涯中,他把自己定义为语言学习,数学流畅运算与天资培养领域的辅导专家。他的管理经历涉及系主任或校长气候顾问。他崇尚培养学生和员工的领导能力,认可社区文化的重要性且其形成左右我们使命实现成败。在来到中国之前,他在黎巴嫩国际学校教授IB中学课程。

Allen在2012年加入 BCIS, 担任英语语言辅导教师与中学教师。今年,他荣升学校中学副校长一职。他认为,我们学校为学生提供一个关爱与互助的氛围同时,校方为学生们设定了更高的标准。他希望,他在上任新职后,将更好地了解社区。他热衷于帮助学生在个人追求与学业规划方面取得成功,让学生人生因此不同,为此他乐此不疲。

 

 

Jessica Wang  高级运营总监

JessicaWang
Jessica Wang 
高级运营总监

Jessica Wang出生在北京。2007年,她从诺森布里亚大学纽卡斯尔商业学院荣获工商管理硕士学位。她也是一位资深的国际注册会计师。她从2015年加入北京乐成国际学校,并把在会计,财务管理,商业运营领域十七年丰富的工作经验带到这里。她曾就职于世界五百强企业,如西门子,TNT快递,安联保险公司等。此外,她还曾于电信媒体技术部门工作多年,负责电视媒体与跨界电子商务事务等。

Jessica非常荣幸地加入BCIS大家庭,并期望用她广博的专业知识,以及数十年的工作经验,助力学校实现可持续发展的终极目标。

 

 

 

Sam Savou  沟通部总监

Sam Communication Director
Sam Savou 
沟通部总监

Sam自2008年以外交官的身份携家人来到中国,子女入学北京乐成国际学校(BCIS),便成为BCIS社区成员。他于2015年加入BCIS教育管理团队,担任沟通部总监职务。 

Sam来自斐济,有着二十余年国际市场营销的工作经历。他曾在多家全球跨国公司工作,如雀巢,沃达丰,Giesicke & Devrient公司等。他还曾担任中国与太平洋岛国经贸合作处外交官职位。

Sam自斐济南太平洋大学荣获工商管理硕士学位,并从澳大利亚新英格兰大学获得项目管理文凭证书。他在生产力与生产创新,以及价值链与贯通性等领域有着独到见解,且颇有建树。 

Sam是沃达丰斐济基金会前任总监兼董事,北苏瓦扶轮社前主席,以及苏瓦私立小学-“学习中心”前任主席等。 他热爱运动,酷爱旅游,并喜欢与不同文化的人们相处交流。

 

 

 

 

王燕 北京乐成国际学校中方校长, 北京乐成教育研究院执行院长

wangyan
王燕
北京乐成国际学校中方校长, 北京乐成教育研究院执行院长

王燕女士于2010年8月担任乐成教育国际化发展中心执行主任, 于2012年6月担任乐成教育研究院执行院长, 并于2016年1月担任北京乐成国际学校中方校长。

在加入乐成研究院和学校之前, 王燕在北京京西学校工作了11年, 在世界银行中国办公室工作过7年, 在中国国家教育部工作过2年, 在广西师范大学工作过8年。

王燕从美国哥伦比亚大学教育学院获的双硕士 (教育硕士和文硕士), 主修教育行政管理和高等教育。在去美国留学之前, 她在广西师范大学学习, 主修英语。

王燕积极倡导并参与教育创新, 国际教育及教育国际化实践。 通过举办教师专业发展工作坊, 她在国内教师和国际教师中推广教学个性化, 推动学校专业学习共同体的建设以及认知教练技术。她是学校评估认证的专家。

王燕现在是国际文凭组织亚太地区委员会委员, 还是中国国家教育部国际学校认证委员会委员。

010203

BCIS is accredited by the CIS (Council of International Schools) and WASC (Western Association of Schools and Colleges), which demonstrates that the school meets demanding international standards in all the areas of philosophy and objectives, curriculum, governance and management, staff, student support services, resources, and student and community life.Visit www.cois.org and www.acswasc.org for more information.

The International Baccalaureate® (IB) is a non-profit educational foundation, motivated by its mission, focused on the student. The three programmes for students aged 3 to 19 help develop the intellectual, personal, emotional and social skills to live, learn and work in a rapidly globalizing world. Founded in 1968, IBO currently works with 2,771 schools in 138 countries to develop and offer three challenging programmes to over 763,000 students aged 3 to 19 years.Visit www.ibo.org for more information.

We live by a spirit of inspiring others, achieving ones goals and creating a better world.

Beijing City International School | No.77 Baiziwan Nan Er Road, Beijing 100022, P.R.China | Tel: +86 010 8771 7171 | Fax: +86 010 8771 7778

Copyright © 2005-2010 Beijing City International School. All rights reserved | Website by Crystal Asia.

ugg boots uk
uggs
cheap ugg boots
uggs outlet
wholesale jerseys